The Secret Letters Blog Tour – Five favourite novels by Catherine Law

the-secret-lettersI’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour today for the ebook launch of Catherine Law’s beautiful, heart breaking novel The Secret Letters. Today, Catherine shares her five favourite novels with us…

My five favourite novels By Catherine Law

Possession by A S Byatt (1990)

I read this book when it was first published and it has remained in my imagination ever since. A literary detective story moving between modern day and Victorian England, it is one of my favourite time-switch novels. I was entranced by the parallel lives of the two scholars investigating the secret love affair between two 19th century poets through discovered letters and poems, which conjured exquisitely the Gothic romance of the past. A S Byatt created such a complete world that I expect, today, readers may try to search for the fictitious poets online.

Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks (1993)

This modern-classic First World War novel is equally beautiful and harrowing, contrasting an illicit love affair with the murderous horrors of war. I remember reading the Battle of the Somme scenes on the tube and, such was the power of the writing and so transported was I into the world of the main character Wraysford, I felt actual physical shock at what he was witnessing. I had to hide my tears from fellow commuters. This was a book that I longed to get back to between reading sessions but had to brace myself for the emotional shredding and unbearable tension created by this brilliant author.

Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson (1995)

From the very first sentence – ‘I exist!’ – I was drawn straight into Ruby Lennox’s story and didn’t want to leave. This is a clever, original and real family saga, which is at times brutally honest and traumatic, but also incredibly compassionate and funny. The lives of the previous generations mingle with Ruby’s, encapsulating perfectly the invisible and unbreakable links between grandparents, parents and children. I recognised Ruby and her very ordinary but bewitching world; she is one of my favourite characters to appear in print.

Part of the Furniture by Mary Wesley (1997)

I must have read this book at least four times. It is the warm and unconventional depiction of a spirited lonely girl struggling through the pain of unrequited love amid the air-raids and trauma of war-time England, and her escape to isolated, beautiful Cornwall. Mary Wesley had a deft, almost spare way of writing which convinces me utterly that I am right there in the world she created. She tapped honestly into her own experiences to create her nine witty novels – I love each one and always return to them. Mary Wesley’s biography, Wild Mary, could easily be a fabulous novel, too.

The Long View by Elizabeth Jane Howard (1956)

This is one of the subtlest, most thought-provoking novel I have ever read. We first see Antonia Fleming in 1950 when a window is opened onto her disastrous marriage to her enigmatic, arrogant and rather cruel husband. And then each section takes us a little bit further back into her past, through the war, and finally to 1926, depicting each time a younger Antonia. Her story unravels to reveal the girl whose unsettling experiences at an early age points to the future we already know. Despite the story going back in time, this clever novel gave me a real and pleasing sense of the continuation and acceptance of life.

law-catherine-credit-david-bergerAbout the author

Catherine Law was born in Harrow, Middlesex in 1965 and has been a journalist for twenty-two years, having trained first as a secretary at the BBC and then attending the London College of Printing. She now works on a glossy interiors magazine and lives in Buckinghamshire. You can find out more about Catherine and her novels on her website: http://www.catherinelaw.co.uk/

About The Secret Letters…

Rose Pepper has kept her wartime past a secret for decades. Forty years ago, she fled communist Prague and left behind the love of her life.
Now in her sixties and with two daughters, Rose discovers a bundle of unopened letters sent to her by her lost love, hidden beneath her home.
Confronted with the possibility of facing up to her past, she decided it’s finally time to go back to where her story began and uncover the truth buried for so long in Prague…
From the author of Map of Stars comes a heart breaking story of love, hope, secrets and lies. The novel is perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes and Leah Fleming
                                                                                                                   A truth buried over forty years.   A love that lasted a lifetime.


The Secret Letters
by Catherine Law is available now on Amazon.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *