The Start of Something Wonderful – Blog Tour

Today, I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the wonderful new novel The Start of Something Wonderful by Jane Lambert. 

Here’s the blurb…

It’s never too late to follow your dreams…
Forty-year-old air stewardess, Emily Forsyth, thought she had everything a woman could wish for: a glamorous, jet-set lifestyle, a designer wardrobe and a dishy pilot boyfriend. Until he breaks up with her.

Catapulted into a mid-life crisis she wishes she’d had earlier, she decides to turn her life upside-down, quitting her job and instead beginning to chase her long-held dreams of becoming an actress!

Leaving the skies behind her, Emily heads for the bright lights of London’s West End but is it too late to reach for the stars?

My thoughts on the book…

I was given this book to review during a bleak and dreary winter in Scotland and it was exactly what the doctor ordered. Full of humour and charm, this book is a really lovely and uplifting read, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella. The story is beautifully told and I loved how we experience the highs and the lows as Emily follows her not-always-glamourous-path to becoming actress.

As a huge fan of La La Land, this book seemed particularly well timed to me and was a very welcomed distraction from the cold and wintery weather we were (still are) experiencing. There’s something about acting, that really fascinates me and it was fantastic to get under Emily’s skin and live through this gutsy and exciting transition in her life at the beginning of her forties.

The fact that The Start of Something Wonderful is inspired by the author Jane’s, real life career change from air hostess to actress (starring in productions such as Gary Barlow’s West End hit, Calendar Girls – no less) added some real warmth and heart to this book and made this story all the more endearing.

Whether you’re looking for a book to get your through this cold snap or a holiday read, The Start of Something Wonderful will not disappoint!

The Start of Something Wonderful by Jane Lambert is published by HarperCollins and is available to buy now.